How I radically altered my body for the better – part 2

Ok, some more education …

When it’s all said and done, it comes down to insulin control. The relevant issue is that insulin promotes the absorption of glucose from the blood and into fat tissue. When the body senses a spike in blood sugar, the liver releases insulin to mop it all up. The body begins running on the preferred sugar vs the body’s stored fat. The remaining sugar gets shunted off to fat storage.

It’s not the fat in our food, it’s the sugar. The constant, unending barrage of sugar that we’ve been convinced to eat in constant dosages for all our lives. From breakfast cereal first thing in the morning, to the High Fructose Corn Syrup in our evening glass of Coke.

Instead of our bodies burning our fat stores, they burn sugar and store the excess sugar as fat. And then we pump in more sugar. Our bodies become sugar burning, and sugar storing machines. With all the free, preferred sugar, there’s not a reason to burn fat. We get fatter. And our bodies are forced to pump out more and more insulin to deal with more and more sugar. This is the diabetes express.

Wilford Bremley to the rescue!

I’m going to lean on this 2012 article by Dr. Dwight Lundell, heart surgeon. Dr. Lundell is a heart surgeon who has performed over 5,000 open-heart surgeries over a 25 year career. It’s worth a read in its entirety, but let’s get right to it.

The long-established dietary recommendations have created epidemics of obesity and diabetes, the consequences of which dwarf any historical plague in terms of mortality, human suffering and dire economic consequences.

In the States, that’s our venerated food pyramid that I learned in Elementary School.

USDA original food pyramid from 1992

The base of this sucker… 8-15 servings of sugar per day. That’s the grains and fruits group combined. Carbohydrates which break down to sugar, and naturally occurring fructose. I don’t care that’s its ‘naturally occurring’. It’s freakin’ sugar.

Any comment, Dr. Lundell?

[We] have simply followed the recommended mainstream diet that is low in fat and high in polyunsaturated fats and carbohydrates, not knowing we were causing repeated injury to our blood vessels. This repeated injury creates chronic inflammation leading to heart disease, stroke, diabetes and obesity.

And what are we recommended to get the least of? Fat. Meat.

Many successful eating plans have been built around turning the body into a fat devouring machine by leaning heavily on those 2  tiny groups. The much ballyhoo’d Atkins diet was probably the most famous example, but there are many variations of the paleo plans, that focus on carbohydrate elimination. The Primal Blueprint, which I used to drop my belly (and 20lbs ) in 3 months, is based upon the premise of reducing the sugar intake via carbohydrate restriction and near elimination. (I’m paraphrasing… it’s a little more complicated that that)

Now, there were difficulties. I lost a lot of mass in a short time. There was no problem with loose skin, or skin flaps. Everything was happily reabsorbed. But I lost a lot of muscle at the same time. I didn’t change my exercise in the slightest. I continued to walk my dog, and I danced with Kathy every Wednesday night.

What happened and how long did it take to see a result?

My energy levels improved by the end of the first week. By the end of week two, I was absolutely hooked. That’s how fast it happened.

I was sleeping better. I felt better when I woke. I wasn’t falling asleep after lunch. I felt active and alive. My clothes began to feel looser. After 3 months, I had lost 4 inches off of my waist. Without wearing a belt, the jeans that had recently felt snug were nearly falling off.

But I wasn’t supposed to lose strength and muscle. What had I done wrong?

Calories.

I promise the details are coming..

One thought on “How I radically altered my body for the better – part 2

Leave a Reply

